How to fit high level endurance sport into a busy work schedule. (part1)

11 10 2009

I can say I have a rather busy job with irregular hours and a lot of business trips ( at least 10 days/ month away) and social events. On the side I still run my own business and I’m still working on some projects as establishing a cycling team, this blog.etc. Still I succeed to train and perform reasonable in competitions. I also like to think that I’m doing quite a good job at work and my company is not doing bad eather. I didn’t get any divorce papers in the mail last week and “the wife” is still talking to me and gives me an occasional smile.

People often ask me how I do this. I think it’s quite simple but you need to have some discipline. Here is how I do it and what works for me:

1.  I PLAN AHEAD. To avoid to waste too much time wondering what I need to do next and where to go. This also allows me to be more flexible because I know exactly where I’m going to be at which point of the week or month.

2. I set realistic and measurable goals for my professional career, my company,my sports and personal life.

What does this mean in realityfor me?

Professional carreer: Keep my employer, clients  and colleagues happy. This is quite often a big challenge but if you don’t feel you can do this then maybe you have the wrong job and probably you are not satisfied with your training results either. There is no perfect job but before you change jobs remember always: “Why the grass is greener on the other side……because mostlikely there is more shit!”

Company: Keep my clients happy, Deliver Value for money, steady growth and  profit margins.

Sports: 8 to 12 hours of training of season and 10 to 15 hours when I’m working towards the season.

I know this amount of training will not get me to my top level but I’m not a pro. I just like to compeed on a high level and win a few races a season. I also want to have fun doing this and other things.

Personal life: Keep “the wife happy”. How? What ever it takes! I’m a lucky guy “the wife” understands and likes sports. She herself  has a rather busy job and if we can we train together.

3. How does a normal week look for me?

Monday:

07:00: Massage after a training weekend helps me to recover faster ( I have massage once a week i)

08:00: Of to work. Takes me about 30min by bike and 20min back ( downhill). In the winter I will save some time and give my legs some rest by going by snowmobile to work once and a while. I don’t count my bike commute as traininghours On other days I try to start early to get a head start and it allows me to leave in time home.

17h00-18h00:Coming  back home,reading the e-mails that came to my company account, a few phone calls, small snack, and 2hours of training. Cycling,Running or X-country skiing.

20h00: Back home, snack, shower and back to work for my own company.

21h30-22h00:Closing down my pc, Read a book or watch the news, some documentary on television.

22h30-23h00: Going to bed

Tuesday:

The same but I don’t train and my wife doesn’t train. I usually work some 3h in the evening with my own projects

Wednesday:

Same as Mondays

Thursday:

Same as Mondays

Friday:

Same as Mondays but no work for my own company.

Saturdays:

No work except if I visit some clients

Training: 2-3h ( with “the wife” if possible)

Sunday:

Training 2-3h in group in the morning

Afternoon spending some time at home or train some more.

Working in the evening with my own projects.

If I’m on business trip I just take my running shoes.I will train in the morning or late at night or inbetween meetings. It really gives me more energy in the end.I always try to be back home for the weekend to keep “the wife” happy and get some longer training sessions done. 

This is in short how I get it done. Of course we don’t have kids but I know plenty of people with kids who just get organised and get it done.  There is always an excuse not to train but in the end you are just cheating your self.

Conclusion :

1. As you noticed the support of your partner is important.

2. Not so many people wish they would have watched more television or surfed more on the internet before they die! Don’t waste your time!

3. Usually you feel better after a training than before!

4. Set enough goals ( big and small) and plan ahead not only for your sports also professional and private! You will be able to squize more in a 24 h day. 

5. Don’t take yourself too serious!

Have Fun!


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

